Meeting Geert Wilders

I had a very rare pleasure recently. I had the opportunity to meet personally with Geert Wilders.

I shall not say much about the meeting, but I will tell you this: Believe with extreme skepticism anything the media tells you about him.

Mr. Wilders is a very tall, elegant man who stands out in a crowd wherever he goes. He’s not violent, a hate-monger, or any other nonsense with which he has been labeled.

He reminded me of Wilson from the American TV show Home Improvement starring Tim Allen. For those who have never watched the show, you could never completely see Wilson’s entire face, only his eyes and his hat over the top of the fence in Tim Taylor’s yard. However, Tim would engage Wilson with long conversations, and Wilson would always provide time with some kind of inspirational or humourous, yet profound philosophical insight into the things in life that really matter- life, love, family, and so forth.

When I spoke with Geert, he is this kind of man. He listens. He cares. If you disagree with him, he will amicably disagree with you. He’s not going to force his views upon you, but when you ask him for his opinions, he speaks honestly and frankly.

Yes, he is passionate about Islam. His passion is driven by not only his views about Islam, but also Muslim people. While Geert and I have different approaches, he wants to see a conversion of Muslims take place- he wants their minds and hearts to be opened so that they can objectively look and Islamic teachings and evaluate them for themselves.

As I have said before, talking about Islamic teaching is NOT the end, but it’s the beginning. The first path ends when Muslims discover that Islam as a religion ends because it’s inherently unfulfilling and that faith in God and the purpose of life is only realized in acceptance of Christ. That is the purpose for existence, and the beginning of a new journey- eternal life in Christ.

What Geert is doing is a step towards that final goal.

Geert Wilders is not a problem. He is just a man, and a good-natured, well-tempered man at that. Mr. Wilders has been so abused by the Global press because he represents something which few people are willing to stand for, and that is the rights and freedoms given to man by God which Christianity promoted and supported for centuries, even when people didn’t want to listen. Now he is the whipping boy for not only Islam, but an ignorant and apathetic world who prefers to bury its head in the sand and pretend that Islam is not a threat while Muhammad’s armies encroach ever closer upon Islam’s goal of total global submission to Islam.

My friends, I am going to try to do what I can to help him. I will keep you informed. Pray for Geert, his family, and his work.

What he is doing is just the beginning of a long journey. However, he cannot finish it on it’s own. We must finish the journey, and that can only be done in Christ.

6 Responses to “Meeting Geert Wilders”

  1. Rabbit Says:

    Thank you for this post. It is easier to villify those we disagree with or who make us uncomfortable than to relate objectively and dispassionately. A calm voice saying “Okay, I don’t agree with everything you have to say or with your style of approaching the matter, but I will listen for the CONTENT of what you are saying” is necessary for real, fruitful discussion.

  2. andymo Says:

    You had me until this:

    ” The first path ends when Muslims discover that Islam as a religion ends because it’s inherently unfulfilling and that faith in God and the purpose of life is only realized in acceptance of Christ.”

    Sigh … I’m not even going to try and change your opinion. All I can say is good luck to you religious folk trying to convince each other who has the correct God/Prophet/Pink Unicorn.

  3. jesusformuslims Says:

    Andymo,

    I appreciate you coming to my website. Please read my response to your comments on the main page.

    In Christ,

    JFM

  4. you reli's scare the hell out of me Says:

    All this just goes to show that religion is the Root of All Evil… sigh

  5. This week’s Wilders Round-up « Defend Geert Wilders Says:

    […] Jesus For Muslims – meeting Geert Wilders […]

  6. jesusformuslims Says:

    To “you relis scare the hell out of me”:

    Thank you for coming to my website. Please read my posts today, as they are of relevance to your comments.

    In Christ,

    JFM

Leave a comment